# The best Rental accounting tools (2026) — Landlord Bench

> Source: https://landlordbench.com/category/rental-accounting (curated, re-verified)
> Updated 1 November 2026 · Reviewed by the Landlord Bench editorial team

Books for rental property: income and expenses by property, bank sync, receipts and the report your accountant asks for at tax time.

8 tools in this category, ranked by what we can confirm about each (a public price, an API and docs, independent sources, stated limits; payment never changes the order). Each name links to its answer-first markdown twin.

## Facts

- Free to start: 5 of 8
- API: 0 of 8
- First paid plan a month: 7 of 8 publish one, $7 to $20, median $15
- Checked against their own sites: 27–30 October 2026 (8 of 8)
- Added in November 2026: 1

| Name | What it is | Pricing |
| --- | --- | --- |
| [Baselane](https://landlordbench.com/baselane.md) | Landlord banking, rent collection and bookkeeping for rental property owners in one account. | Free, then $20 a month billed annually |
| [Hammock](https://landlordbench.com/hammock.md) | UK landlord accounting for Making Tax Digital and real-time property finance records. | From £8 a month (about $11) |
| [Landlord Studio](https://landlordbench.com/landlord-studio.md) | Rental listings, screening, rent collection and landlord bookkeeping in one app, free for up to three units. | Free, then $15 a month |
| [Landlordy](https://landlordbench.com/landlordy.md) | Offline iPhone and Android app for landlord bookkeeping, with all tenant data kept on the device. | Free |
| [REI Hub](https://landlordbench.com/rei-hub.md) | Double-entry rental property accounting with per-property reporting and Schedule E. | Free, then $15 a month |
| [Rental Hero](https://landlordbench.com/rental-hero.md) | Rental bookkeeping with bank feeds, per-property P&L and receipt capture, one flat annual price. | From $10.75 a month billed annually |
| [Rentastic](https://landlordbench.com/rentastic.md) | Bank-fed bookkeeping built only for rental property, with reports laid out in IRS Schedule E categories. | From $7 a month |
| [Stessa](https://landlordbench.com/stessa.md) | Free rental bookkeeping, banking, leasing and rent collection for US residential landlords. | Free, then $15 a month |

## Accounting and bookkeeping software for rental property compared

| Tool | Price on its site | MCP server | API | Open source | Self-host |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Baselane](https://landlordbench.com/baselane) | Free, then $20 a month billed annually | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Hammock](https://landlordbench.com/hammock) | From about $11 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Landlord Studio](https://landlordbench.com/landlord-studio) | Free, then $15 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Landlordy](https://landlordbench.com/landlordy) | Free | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [REI Hub](https://landlordbench.com/rei-hub) | Free, then $15 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Rental Hero](https://landlordbench.com/rental-hero) | From $10.75 a month billed annually | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Rentastic](https://landlordbench.com/rentastic) | From $7 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Stessa](https://landlordbench.com/stessa) | Free, then $15 a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |

All 8 accounting and bookkeeping software for rental property we list.

## Questions buyers ask

### Which tool here costs the least?

5 of the 8 have a free plan: Baselane, Landlord Studio, Landlordy, REI Hub and Stessa. The lowest paid plan is Rentastic, from $7 a month. Price checked on 27 October 2026.

### How much do accounting and bookkeeping software for rental property cost?

Paid plans run from $7 to $20 a month, across the 7 with a monthly price. The median is $15 a month.

### When were these prices checked?

Between 27 October 2026 and 30 October 2026, each on the vendor's own pricing page.

## Sources and method

Ordered by what we can verify for landlords: a published price, an API with docs, sources and the limits a vendor states. [How we rank](https://landlordbench.com/methodology/)

Every price here is read from the vendor's own pricing page.

- [Baselane](https://landlordbench.com/baselane): [baselane.com/pricing](https://www.baselane.com/pricing), checked 28 October 2026
- [Hammock](https://landlordbench.com/hammock): [usehammock.com/pricing](https://www.usehammock.com/pricing/), checked 30 October 2026
- [Landlord Studio](https://landlordbench.com/landlord-studio): [landlordstudio.com/pricing](https://www.landlordstudio.com/pricing), checked 28 October 2026
- [Landlordy](https://landlordbench.com/landlordy): [landlordy.com/pricing.html](https://landlordy.com/pricing.html), checked 28 October 2026
- [REI Hub](https://landlordbench.com/rei-hub): [reihub.net/pricing](https://www.reihub.net/pricing/), checked 28 October 2026
- [Rental Hero](https://landlordbench.com/rental-hero): [rentalhero.io/Home](https://www.rentalhero.io/Home), checked 27 October 2026
- [Rentastic](https://landlordbench.com/rentastic): [rentastic.io/pricing](https://www.rentastic.io/pricing), checked 27 October 2026
- [Stessa](https://landlordbench.com/stessa): [stessa.com/pricing](https://www.stessa.com/pricing/), checked 27 October 2026

## Where next

### Related categories

- [Landlords who self-manage](https://landlordbench.com/category/diy-landlords)
- [Free landlord software](https://landlordbench.com/category/free-plan)
- [Cheapest for 25 units](https://landlordbench.com/category/cheapest)
- [Landlord software](https://landlordbench.com/category/landlord-software)
